Leadership and Governance


Lindsey Johnson - Leadership and Governance

Lindsey Johnson – Principal & Chief Executive Officer

Anita Lall - Leadership and Governance

Anita Lall – Vice Principal Curriculum & Quality


The Governing Body is responsible for the overall functioning of the College and aims to reflect the community the College serves. It consists of 14 members who are recruited from a wide cross-section of the local community and businesses, as well as from the staff and student body.

David Mabbit 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

David Mabbitt – Chair of the Board

David is a retired Mechanical Engineer with extensive business experience following a varied career in industry across the UK and overseas.

David can be contacted via Joan Matthews
01756 693 816

Fiona Thompson 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Fiona Thomson – Vice-chair of the Board and Chair, Search and Governance Committee

Fiona is the Managing Director of a Medical Recruitment Business, following a career in the Chemical Waste Processing Industry. Fiona has held voluntary and mentoring roles with young people in various phases of education.

Sue Laycock 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Sue Laycock – Chair of Compliance Committee

Sue is Director of Human Resources at Incommunities Group Ltd, a housing association in Bradford. Sue has also held HR roles in local authorities and her current role encompasses employee resourcing, employment legislation, learning and development and health and safety.

David Thorpe Crop 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

David Thorpe – Chair of Audit Committee

David is Chief Operating Officer of STEM Learning Ltd. STEM Learning operates the National STEM Learning Network which improves lives through great teaching of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). David has also held Finance Director and Chief Executive roles in a wide range of industries.

Andy Brown 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Andy Brown

Andy has had a long career in further education which included being Deputy Principal at Keighley College and Director of Young People’s Learning across Yorkshire and the Humber. After retiring Andy became the Green Party candidate for the Skipton & Ripon constituency and is currently a member of Craven District Council.

Martyn Stone 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Martyn Stone

Martyn is an accountant and has worked in the financial services sector for 30 years in finance and audit roles, most recently for SBS and HML. Martyn is also an LA appointed school governor.

Kevin Wharton 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Kevin Wharton

Kevin is an accountant. After graduating with a first class degree in economics from the University of Newcastle, he spent most of his career working for KPMG, specialising in public sector work in local and central government, the NHS and education in the UK. Since his retirement in 2009, Kevin has worked as a trustee to a number of local charities and completed a few long distance cycle challenges to raise money.

Stephen Morton 2 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Stephen Morton

Stephen is a public health doctor who worked in a variety of posts in the UK until retirement in 2017. He has lived in Skipton for 7 years and before that for many years in East Lancashire where he also spent 10 years as a governor of Blackburn College. He has also worked as a temporary advisor for the World Health Organisation, currently supporting the European Regional Office on tools to support the implementation of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. He was appointed as a visiting professor at the University of Central Lancashire in March 2018.

Alison Birkinshaw 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Alison Birkinshaw

Alison retired as Principal of York College in May 2019 after 35 years in the FE sector. She was privileged to lead and work at three outstanding colleges, York College, Nelson and Colne College and Runshaw College and hopes to continue to use this experience as a governor at Craven College.
Additionally, Alison is a musician (bassoonist, conductor and choir member) and has begun volunteering for the RSPB and Alzheimer’s UK. She also enjoys walking, swimming and beekeeping.

Amanda McGrath 2 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Amanda McGrath – Business Support Governor

Amanda has worked at Craven College as SEND Team Leader since 2016, prior to which she worked at Leeds City College for 12 years. She is passionate about SEND and particularly the Autism Spectrum. Previously Amanda has set up a National Autistic Society branch and run her own Autism Spectrum Consultancy business as a social enterprise.

Joanna Baxter Crop 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Joanna Baxter – Teaching Staff Governor

Joanne is Centre Manager for Animal, Equine Studies and Engineering at Craven College. Her specialist teaching area is Equine Studies.

Joan Matthews 350x350 - Leadership and Governance

Joan Matthews – Director of Governance

Joan is Director of Governance and is responsible for advising the Board on governance procedures and practice.  She has had a wide ranging career within the education sector in both school and Higher Education.

Meeting Minutes

Reports, Policies & Reference Documents

Articles Of Government 2014 – Governing Board Of Craven College
Code Of Conduct For Governors
Complaints Against The Board Of Governors Policy
Governance – Arrangements for obtaining the views of staff and students
Instrument of Government 2014- Governing Board of Craven College
Rules for the Appointment, Re-Appointment and Removal of Governors