English and Maths

Whatever you are studying and whatever you plan to do in the future, English and Maths skills are essential. A good level of English and maths is a requirement for all jobs, further and higher education courses and for leading an independent adult life. To reflect this, the government has made it a priority for all 16-18 year olds to continue developing these skills when they progress from schools to colleges.

At Craven College we offer GCSE and Functional Skills English and Maths. Which option you take will depend on your starting point and previous qualifications and will be discussed with you at enrolment. Whatever you choose to study, you will be supported by fully qualified specialist tutors, learning support staff and progress coaches to achieve your potential.

Our classes

We build our English and Maths classes around your chosen study programmes and we run classes on the three main college campuses. Classes are two hours per week with extra work for you to complete at home in-between classes.

You will sit your GCSE exams between May and June or your Functional skills exams between February and May, with an opportunity to resit in June.

GCSE changes from 2017

You may have heard that GCSE grades are changing. From September 2017 we will be offering the new 9 – 1 GCSEs in English and Maths using AQA as our awarding body and Functional Skills at Entry Level and Level 1 using Pearson Edexcel qualifications. More information on the new grading system is available in this short video.

In summer 2017, all GCSE English and Maths exam results will be graded from 9 – 1 instead of from A* – G and in summer 2019, all GCSE subjects will be graded in this way.

Why have a new system?

The Government sees this as a way to raise the standard of the current GCSEs in order to compete with the best performing countries around the world.

How does the new system work?

At the moment there are 8 grades (A* – G), which will change to 9 grades (9 – 1) with the new system, with 9 being the highest grade.

Key points

The new system allows more differentiation between high performing students ie instead of having A* and A there are now 3 equivalent grades of 9, 8 and 7 and instead of B and C there are now 3 grades 6, 5 and 4

The new numbered grades do not directly correspond to the old letter grades, but it is expected that the same proportion of students who currently achieve :-

  • Grade A or higher will achieve a grade 7 or higher
  • Grade C or higher will receive a grade 4 or higher
  • Grade 9 is a new grade for very high performing students which will be set as the top fifth of the current A and A*
  • Grade 5 will be the benchmark for a ‘good pass’
  • The bottom of grade 1 will be the same as the bottom of grade G
New GCSE Grading Structure
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • U
GCSE Grading Structure
Current New
A* A 9 8 7
B C 6 5 4
D E F G 3 2 1
Other Sites
Craven College Enrolment
Enrolment 2019

All you need to know about becoming a Craven College student for September 2019

School Leavers Degrees and Higher Levels