Hair, Beauty & Nails Competition Day Hits the Academy



06 April 2018

Related Subject Areas:
Beauty Therapy, Hairdressing, Nail Services


Full-time level 1,2 & 3 hairdressing, beauty therapy and nail services students recently took part in a planned competition day at the Craven College Academy of Hair & Beauty.

Students were asked to start off by researching different images of what they wanted their competition entry to resemble and later were asked to create a mood board which they could work off as they embarked on their projects. Alongside their creations students put together the costumes, make-up and all round looks to ensure their projects lived up to what they had envisioned.

Nail services students looked to create weird and wacky 3D nail design looks, beauty students designed their looks around themes of space travel and festivals, where as hairdressing students explored themes of the Red Indians and Elizabeth I.

Tutor, Carol Opie-Kumar, says 'The day has been very motivating for students and has give them a taste of what competition may be like in industry. Students have built up their research skills and shown how creative they can be in their projects.'

 

VOCATIONAL

Hair & Beauty Level 1

2019-2020

Barbering Level 2

2019-2020

Beauty Therapy Level 2

2019-2020

Hairdressing (Women's & Men's) Level 2

2019-2020

Hairdressing Level 2

2019-2020

Nail Services Level 2

2019-2020

Beauty Therapy Level 3

2019-2020

Hairdressing Level 3

2019-2020

Nail Services Level 3

2019-2020

Apprenticeships

Beauty Professional Apprenticeship

2019-2020

Hair Professional Apprenticeship

2019-2020

Part-time

Aromatherapy

2018-2019
Sat 16 February 2019

Aromatherapy Massage Introduction

2018-2019
Thu 7 March 2019

Barbering Certificate Level 2

2018-2019
Tue 11 September 2018

Body Massage Introduction

2018-2019
Thu 2 May 2019

Facial Relaxation

2018-2019
Sat 23 March 2019

Gel Nails (Fingers & Toes) Introduction

2018-2019
Sat 19 January 2019

Gel Polish Introduction

2018-2019
Tue 15 January 2019

Indian Head Massage

2018-2019
Sat 6 April 2019

Make-up & Nails (Junior)

2018-2019
Sat 16 February 2019

Manicure & Pedicure (Junior)

2018-2019
Sat 23 March 2019

Nail Technology Certificate Level 2

2018-2019
Thu 20 September 2018

No Hands Massage

2018-2019
Thu 22 November 2018

Party Hair (Junior)

2018-2019
Sat 18 May 2019

Reflexology

2018-2019
Sat 18 May 2019

Reflexology Introduction

2018-2019
Thu 18 October 2018

Updos for Adults

2018-2019
Sat 20 October 2018
The Aviation Academy
Academy of Hair & Beauty
The Brasserie
The SHOP