Fine Art Degree Students Remember World War One



08 November 2018

Related Subject Area:
Art & Design


Fine Art BA (Hons) students Audrey Edwards, Christopher Tye and Linda Dearden are collaborating in the final year of their Degree at Craven College on an exhibition to be recreated in Holy Trinity Church for 11 November Remembrance Day. This will be a special year as it will mark 100 years since the end of WW1 and forms part of their Professional Practice module.

Entitled ‘Over by Christmas', the exhibition shows the impact of World War One on the local area. Linda focussed on the poppy theme and Flanders fields whilst Chris's focal point was the Cenotaph.

Audrey's starting point was the War Memorial and the names on it. She wanted to show the contrast between the lives of those remaining in Skipton and those in the trenches and the gap that the people left by no longer being in Skipton as well as representing the Dales countryside in contrast to the trenches. Her painting shows Pen-y-ghent in the background with images of soldiers and a nurse superimposed. The replica postcards linked by string symbolise the communication lines between those at war and home.

Linda explains that the exhibition will be a collection of collage and paintings with a backdrop of wood and sacking to represent the trenches.

Linda and Audrey were able to replicate the lines of the trench maps, whilst Audrey used charcoal on brown paper to embody the landscape of the Somme and Flanders combined with silhouette pictures.

Linda says "We are grateful for the support and inspiration of tutor Bridget Tempest, The Reverend Veronica James, Holy Trinity Church, Skipton, the Craven Museum and the British Legion".

Art & Design Level 1

2019-2020

Art & Design Level 2

2019-2020

Art & Design Level 3 (Foundation Studies)

2019-2020

Art & Design Level 3 (inc. Graphics, 3D, Photography & Fashion)

2019-2020

Degrees

Art Practice HNC

2019-2020

Graphics HNC

2019-2020

Photography HNC

2019-2020

Part-time

Art & Craft Production

2018-2019
Tue 18 September 2018

Art & Craft Production Techniques

2018-2019
Tue 15 January 2019

Art & Craft Workshop

2018-2019
Tue 30 April 2019

Copper Bracelet - Workshop

2018-2019
Sat 18 May 2019

Copper Bracelet - Workshop

2018-2019
Sat 23 March 2019

Creative Writing

2018-2019
Wed 3 October 2018

Drawing - Have Fun (Junior)

2018-2019
Sat 16 February 2019

Drawing Beginner & Improvers

2018-2019
Wed 8 May 2019

Drawing Beginner & Improvers

2018-2019
Wed 6 February 2019

Drawing Beginners

2018-2019
Wed 7 November 2018

Drawing for the Less Terrified Beginners & Improvers

2018-2019
Sat 23 March 2019

Embellishment Workshop

2018-2019
Mon 29 April 2019

Embellishment Workshop

2018-2019
Tue 30 April 2019

Embellishment Workshop

2018-2019
Mon 29 April 2019

Embellishment Workshop

2018-2019
Mon 29 April 2019

Fine Art, Drawing, Printmaking & Experimental Processes

2018-2019
Tue 22 January 2019

Oil Painting Introduction

2018-2019
Wed 26 September 2018

Painting - Have Fun (Junior)

2018-2019
Sat 15 June 2019

Painting - Masterclass

2018-2019
Wed 6 March 2019

Painting Masterclass

2018-2019
Wed 7 November 2018

Photography - Digital & Photoshop

2018-2019
Wed 6 March 2019

Photography - Digital Introduction

2018-2019
Wed 26 September 2018

Photography - Night Time Low Light & Flash

2018-2019
Wed 30 January 2019

Photography - What Makes a Great Photo

2018-2019
Wed 5 June 2019

Sewing Design

2018-2019
Mon 17 September 2018

Sewing Design

2018-2019
Tue 15 January 2019

Sewing Design

2018-2019
Mon 17 September 2018

Sewing Design

2018-2019
Mon 17 September 2018

Sewing Techniques

2018-2019
Mon 14 January 2019

Sewing Techniques

2018-2019
Mon 14 January 2019

Sewing Techniques

2018-2019
Mon 14 January 2019

Sewing Workshop - Creative Textiles

2018-2019
Wed 23 January 2019

Sewing Workshop Using Dressmaking Skills

2018-2019
Wed 26 September 2018

Silversmithing - Make a Pendant

2018-2019
Wed 6 February 2019

Silversmithing - Make a Silver Ring

2018-2019
Wed 10 October 2018

Silversmithing - Make a Silver Ring

2018-2019
Sat 6 April 2019

Silversmithing - Make a Silver Ring

2018-2019
Sat 16 February 2019

Silversmithing - Make a Silver Ring

2018-2019
Wed 1 May 2019

Stained Glass Beginners

2018-2019
Sat 15 December 2018

Stained Glass Beginners & Improvers

2018-2019
Wed 6 February 2019

Stained Glass Beginners & Improvers

2018-2019
Wed 8 May 2019

Stained Glass Beginners & Improvers

2018-2019
Sat 6 April 2019

Stained Glass Introduction

2018-2019
Wed 7 November 2018

Watercolour Painting - Introduction

2018-2019
Wed 23 January 2019

The Aviation Academy

Academy of Hair & Beauty

The Brasserie

The SHOP