Skip to main content

Cyber Security & Computer Systems Level 4 (inc Computing HNC)

Craven College is part of the NEW Yorkshire and Humber Institute of Technology (which has received £10m Government investment). You will have access to a brand new floor of high spec i5 PCs as well as industry-standard Cisco Networking equipment on our Skipton Campus. We are working with a network of employers Skipton Building Society, Computershare, PEEL interactive, Selestial Software, CPOMS and Craven District Council, so that your curriculum meets their future employment needs in areas such as Ethical Hacking and Data Erasure.

The Cyber Security and Systems Level 4 programme incorporates Computing HNC (UCAS A3Y7).

This 1 year HNC Level 4 is an ideal qualification if you want to achieve professional recognition in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) sector. It is recognised by the British Computing Society (BCS) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and is a good qualification if you want to develop your technical knowledge, skills and understanding of this exciting and rapidly evolving sector and be a lead technologist in your field.

Our brand new Networking Lab, Cisco networking equipment, Smooth Wall Firewall, HP servers and switching will ensure you have all the infrastructure you need to be ahead of the game.

The course will be taught over 1 day per week allowing you to work alongside studying. You will need to undertake significant independent study outside of taught sessions. For every one taught hour you should spend at least two hours studying independently away from College, equating to at least eight hours per week.

Assessment is on a continuous basis with up to two assignments in each unit. Assessment is via coursework which takes a variety of forms including written reports, presentations, portfolios and written reflections.

Aireville Campus
Study Location
1 Year
FT - £6,950
Institution Code
Subject to validation
Validated by

Entry Requirements

  • 48 UCAS tariff points (formerly 120 UCAS points)
  • English & Maths GCSEs grade 9-4 (A*-C)
  • Students without necessary qualifications but with relevant work experience are encouraged to apply for an interview
What you will study image

What you will study

• Programming
• Networking
• Professional Practice
• Database Design & Development
• Security
• Managing a Successful Computing Project
• Website Design & Development
• Software Development Lifecycles

What's Next?

To apply for a full-time higher education programme, please apply via UCAS.

Further Study

  • Computing HND
  • Computing BSc


  • Ethical Hacker
  • Software Developer/Engineer
  • Data Erasure Engineer/Techician
  • Games Developer
  • Web Designer
  • Data Analyst
  • Network Engineer