Computing HNC

Craven College is part of the NEW Yorkshire and Humber Institute of Technology (which has received £10m Government investment). You will have access to a brand new floor of high spec i7 PCs as well as  industry standard Cisco Networking equipment on our Skipton Campus. We are working with a network of employers so that your curriculum meets their future employment needs in areas such as Ethical Hacking, Penetration Testing and Data Erasure. An Achievement Bursary of £750 is available for all students on this course.

Available for February 2020 start.

Course Level:
Level 4
1 Year
Study Time:
Aireville Campus
UCAS Code:
Institution Code:
Validated by:

FT - £6,750
Fees & Funding

Once the College has finalised its proposals for 2021/22 Tuition Fees more information will be published. Any proposals will be in line with the Consumer Price Index and the College’s Fee Policy. Please note Higher National Certificates (HNC) are qualifications in their own right and students progressing from a HNC to a Higher National Diploma are subject to a new fee.


In partnership with Skipton Building Society, Computershare,, JBA Consulting, PEEL interactive, Selestial Software, CPOMS and Craven District Council, this 1 year HNC level 4 is perfect if you are looking for a stepping stone towards Degree level study or to enhance your career prospects.

The course will be taught over 1 or 2 days a week allowing you to work alongside studying and with a total cost of £6,000 (£6750 with a cash payment of £250 at the end of each term conditional on at least 85% attendance and making expected progress).

With enrichment, that could include Arduino Robotics and Raspberry Pi Alarms alongside employer Masterclasses, Mentoring and Work Shadowing, this course will offer you the opportunity to gain valuable vocational and professional skills.

You will need to undertake significant independent study outside of taught sessions. For every one taught hour you should spend at least two hours studying independently away from College, equating to at least eight hours per week. The Computing Systems Architecture and Software Development Lifecycles units are delivered on a self-study basis with online support and require significant independent study.

Assessment is on a continuous basis with up to two assignments in each unit. Assessment is via coursework which takes a variety of forms including written reports, presentations, portfolios and written reflections.


Mandatory Core Units

  • Programming
  • Networking
  • Professional Practice
  • Database Design & Development
  • Security
  • Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson-set)

Specialist Units

  • Computing Systems Architecture
  • Software Development Lifecycles

Entry Requirements

  • 48 UCAS tariff points (formerly 120 UCAS points)
  • English & Maths GCSEs grade 9-4 (A*-C)
  • Students without necessary qualifications but with relevant work experience are encouraged to apply for an interview

Your choices may include:

  • Ethical Hacker
  • Penetration Tester
  • Data Erasure
  • Games Developer
  • Network Engineer
  • Software Engineer
  • Data Analyst
  • Software Developer
  • Web Designer

Your choices may include:

  • Computing HND
  • Computing BSc
Our Staff